2020 Ontario Liberal Party Leadership Election

Get Involved

The Ontario Liberal Party is entering an exciting period of renewal and you can be a part of it! On the weekend of March 6-7, 2020 at the International Centre in Mississauga, we’ll come together for a leadership convention that will spark renewal throughout our party. We will move forward from the convention with a vision that builds on the progress we’ve delivered as a party and puts forward positive new ideas for a brighter future in Ontario.

Attend the 2020 Leadership Convention

The convention will be held at the International Centre in Mississauga on March 6-7, 2020. Only Ex-Officio delegates and delegates and alternates who ran for election at an LEM, who pay the convention registration fee will be eligible to participate at the convention. All other Ontario Liberal Party members are welcome and encouraged to attend as non-voting attendees.

Register for Convention

Book Your Hotel

Draft Agenda

Kathleen Wynne Tribute Event

Online registration will close on Monday, March 2, 2020 at 5:00 PM. Special early-bird registration rates for the convention must be purchased by the deadline at 11:59 PM on Friday, February 28. The early-bird rates for all party members are as follows:

Regular (26-64) $499
Red Trillium Club $349
Senior (65+) $249
Youth (14-25) $249
Observer $1600

Attendees registering AFTER the early-bird registration deadline will do so at the regular registration rates for all party memberswhich are as follows:

Regular (26-64) $599
Red Trillium Club $449
Senior (65+) $349
Youth (14-25) $349
Observer $1600


Meet the Candidates

The official candidates in the 2020 Leadership Election include (in alphabetical order):

Michael Coteau


Steven Del Duca


Kate Graham


Brenda Hollingsworth


Mitzie Hunter


Alvin Tedjo


Leadership Election Meeting (LEM) Results

Ontario Liberals from across our province turned out in large numbers at local Leadership Election Meetings to vote for delegates for the March 6-7 leadership convention. 2,084 delegates were elected:

  • Michael Coteau: 371 delegates
  • Steven Del Duca: 1,171 delegates
  • Kate Graham: 273 delegates
  • Brenda Hollingsworth: 25 delegates
  • Mitzie Hunter: 130 delegates
  • Alvin Tedjo: 72 delegates
  • Independent: 42 delegates

There are approximately 640 ex-officio delegates who can vote at the convention. This group includes former and sitting Liberal MPPs, current Liberal MPs from Ontario, riding association and club presidents, party executive members, and others, such as former Presidents of the Ontario Liberal Party. There are 2,724 eligible delegates to the convention in total.

Watch the Debates

The official 2020 Leadership Debate Schedule can be found here:

Note: all dates, times, and locations are subject to change at the sole discretion of the Ontario Liberal Party.

Become a Leadership Volunteer

The leadership process is being led by a neutral team made up of Secretary General Christine McMillan, Chief Returning Officer Jack Siegel, and the staff at Party Headquarters.

The leadership team will also need an army of neutral volunteers to help with data entry, event logistics, conducting LEMs, and executing the 2020 Convention. These volunteers cannot take a side in the race. If you would like to become a neutral leadership volunteer, sign and submit a Declaration of Neutrality Form to leadership@ontarioliberal.ca.

Declaration of Neutrality Form

Important Documents

Questions & More Information

If you have questions about the 2020 Leadership process, want more or information, or simply need assistance finding tools to navigate the leadership process, let us know! Contact the Party office at leadership@ontarioliberal.ca.

Media Inquiries

To register as media at the 2020 Leadership Convention, please click the button below.

Register as Media

Please note that every member of the media who plans to attend the convention must be registered, including technical and production staff. Completion of the form is not a guarantee of accreditation. Due to limited space, priority will be given to Queen’s Park accredited media. Accreditation remains at the discretion of the Ontario Liberal Party and will be confirmed by email to registered media. Media who register during the convention weekend will be permitted on a first-come-first-serve basis only.

For more information about the leadership race, members of the media can contact communications@ontarioliberal.ca.