Ontario Liberals reshuffle critic portfolios to hold Doug Ford to account

QUEEN’S PARK – Bonnie Crombie, Leader of the Ontario Liberal Party, has announced a reshuffling of the Critic roles and new responsibilities for her caucus. 

“With Doug Ford presiding over a crisis in our healthcare, increasingly unaffordable housing, neglected schools and a worsening budget deficit, Ontario Liberals are focused on holding him to account,” said Crombie. “We are working every day to build the team and the plan that will defeat and replace Doug Ford in 2026.”

The new critic portfolios focus on key areas of concern across the province:

  • John Fraser, MPP for Ottawa South, becomes the Critic for Children, Social and Community Services; and the Critic for Seniors and Long-term Care. 
  • Lucille Collard, MPP for Ottawa—Vanier, becomes the Critic for Justice Issues and the Critic for Francophone Issues. 
  • Stephen Blais, MPP for Orléans, becomes the Critic for Infrastructure, and Municipalities; and the Critic for Labour and Skills Training. 
  • Stephanie Bowman, MPP for Don Valley West, becomes the Critic for Finance, Jobs and the Economy. 
  • Adil Shamji, MPP for Don Valley East, becomes the Critic for Health, the Critic for Housing, and the Critic for Northern and Indigenous Issues. 
  • Mary-Margret McMahon, MPP for Beaches—East York, becomes the Critic for the Environment and Climate Change. 
  • Ted Hsu, MPP for Kingston and the Islands, becomes the Critic for Energy and Natural Resources, and the Critic for Agricultural and Rural Issues. 
  • Karen McCrimmon, MPP for Kanata—Carleton, becomes the Critic for Education, Colleges and Universities. 
  • Andrea Hazell, MPP for Scarborough—Guildwood, becomes the Critic for Transportation, the Critic for Multiculturalism, and the Critic for Women’s Issues. 

In addition to these critic roles, caucus members are also assigned the following party responsibilities: 

  • Mr Fraser remains parliamentary leader.
  • Mme Collard remains house leader. 
  • Mr Blais becomes caucus liaison for election readiness and remains caucus chair. 
  • Ms Bowman becomes caucus liaison for policy development. 
  • Dr Shamji becomes caucus liaison for Northern riding associations. 
  • Dr Hsu becomes caucus liaison to rural riding associations. 
  • Ms McMahon becomes caucus liaison to the Ontario Young Liberals. 
  • LCol McCrimmon becomes caucus liaison to the Liberal Party of Canada and the federal Liberal caucus. 
  • Ms Hazell becomes caucus liaison to the Ontario Women’s Liberal Commission.

Statement on July 17, 2024 FAO Q4 Expenditure Report

QUEEN’S PARK, ON — Stephanie Bowman, MPP for Don Valley West and Ontario Liberal Finance Critic, has released the following…

Read More

Crombie Calls for LCBO Chair to Resign Over Close Ties to Doug Ford

TORONTO, ON – Bonnie Crombie, Leader of Ontario’s Liberals, released the following statement: “It has become clear that the LCBO…

Read More

Local Champion Mary-Margaret McMahon Nominated as Ontario Liberal Candidate in Beaches—East York

TORONTO, ON – Mary-Margaret McMahon, MPP for Beaches—East York and Ontario Liberal Party (OLP) critic for Environment and Climate Change,…

Read More